Hickman, Rock Bridge students named National Merit Scholarship finalists




Twenty-five Columbia students have been named finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. High school students who have taken the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test are eligible for the program. Of the 1.5 million students who take the PSAT/NMSQT nationwide each year, about 50,000 top scorers are identified. From those top scorers, about 15,000 students are chosen as finalists.

Find out who the Columbia finalists are after the jump.

Finalists from Hickman High School are:

  • Andrew Atkins
  • William Cowell
  • Grant Hendrix
  • John Hosmer-Quint
  • William Lee
  • Thomas Majerus
  • Ryan Pruitt
  • Cyrus Rautman
  • Eric Young
  • Angela Zou

Finalists from Rock Bridge High School are:

March through mid-June, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will name about 8,400 NMSP winners. Winners are chosen based on finalists’ academic records, test scores, leadership histories and personal essays, among other things. Each winner will be chosen for one of three scholarships:

  • National Merit $2,500 Scholarship
  • Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship award
  • College-sponsored Merit Scholarship award

Leave a comment

Filed under Columbia-Boone County, Schools

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s