Getting to know you, Blue Ridge-Oakland

I’m new to Columbia, but it already feels like home. My name is Kellie Kotraba, and I’ll be immersing myself in the neighborhood life of the Blue Ridge-Oakland part of town as a reporter for the Columbia Missourian this semester.

I moved in three weeks ago from California state, and although I’m still adapting to the humidity, there is a familiarity about the culture of Columbia. Something about it reminds me of the towns out west in which I spent my childhood.

I’m excited to discover what my new community holds, and I’m eager to get started. I want to experience Blue Ridge-Oakland life, from attending school plays and church functions to visiting restaurants and businesses. I hope to get to know the people who live there and who make that north-central part of town what it is.

If you have any story ideas or tips on getting to know the neighborhood, I would love to hear from you. You can reach me at kelliekotraba@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blue Ridge—Oakland

Leave a Reply

